Outdated browser!
Your current browser is out of date and might not be able to display this website correctly. Please update your browser. Or click below to continue using the site.
Update browser

Entry to University

Many ACG English School students move onto another ACG programme. This might be one of the ACG schools or one of the three foundation programmes that we deliver on behalf of the University of Auckland, AUT and Victoria University of Wellington.

It is expected that a University of Auckland foundation student will progress to the University of Auckland. Likewise, an AUT foundation student and Victoria Foundation will progress to their respective universities of choice, a few may have a change of plan and want to consider studying overseas.

Students who successfully complete the following ACG English School levels and who meet the academic entry requirements have guaranteed entry into all ACG schools and programmes as below.

  • ACG Parnell College, ACG Strathallan, ACG Sunderland and ACG Tauranga

    Years 7 to 10 – Academic Level 2
    Years 11 to 13 – Academic Level 3*

    *ACG Parnell College Academic Level 4.

  • ACG Senior College

    Year 11 – 13 – Academic Level 3

  • The University of Auckland Certificate in Foundation Studies

    Fast-track 8/9 months (three terms) – Academic Level 4
    Standard 1 year (four terms) – Academic Level 3
    Extended 18 months (six terms) – Academic Level 2

  • AUT Certificate in Foundation Studies

    Fast-track 6 months (two terms) – Academic Level 5
    Standard 8/9 months (three terms) – Academic Level 4
    Standard Plus 1 year (four terms) – Academic Level 3
    Academic English for Foundation 3 months (one term) – Academic Level 2


  • Victoria University of Wellington Foundation Studies Programme

    Fast-track 6 months (two terms) – Academic Level 5
    Standard 8/9 months (three terms) – Academic Level 4
    Standard Plus 1 year (four terms) – Academic Level 3

  • Yoobee School of Design, New Zealand School of Tourism, NZMA, Animation College, AMES, South Seas Film & Television School, NSIA, Academy New Zealand, New Zealand College of Massage, New Zealand Institute of Sport, Cut Above Academy, Elite International School of Beauty and Spa Therapies, Design & Arts College of New Zealand

    Level 4 Certificates…………………………………………Academic Level 3
    Level 5 Diplomas……………………………………………..Academic Level 4
    Level 6,7 Diplomas and Bachelor Degree……… Academic Level 5

    **Some diploma programmes have different IELTS requirements.

We expect students to continue on to the respective university of the foundation programme they are in, but acknowledge that sometimes circumstances change. Examples of tertiary institutions that ACG foundation and high school students have been offered places to study are listed below.

  • Overseas study prospects include:
    • Australian National University
    • Bond University
    • California State University East Bay
    • City University of New York
    • Curtin University of Technology
    • HIALS (Aalesund University College, Norway)
    • Ivano-Frankivsk National Technical University of Oil and Gas
    • La Trobe University
    • Macquarie University
    • Maranatha Christian University
    • Monash University Melbourne
    • Nanyang Technological University
    • National Autonomous University of México
    • Northern Arizona University
    • Oregon State University
    • Prince Mohammad Bin Fahad University
    • RMIT International University Vietnam
    • Ryerson University
    • Singapore Management University
    • Swinburne University
    • The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
    • University of Adelaide
    • University of Amsterdam
    • University of Birmingham
    • University of British Columbia
    • University of Hawaii
    • University of Maastricht (the Netherlands)
    • University of Manchester
    • University of Melbourne
    • University of Nottingham (Ningbo campus)
    • University of Nottingham (UK campus)
    • University of Queensland
    • University of Southern Queensland
    • University of Sydney
    • University of Technology
    • University of Western Australia